In short, you attach the backup database, create a web application with the content database of ‘DELETE_ME’, then after the web application is created, change the content database association though Central Administration (CA->Application Management->Content Databases), remove the “DELETE_ME” One (and delete from SQL Server) and then attach the restored one to the web application.

Advertisements